My nose is still alive

new bottlesI haven’t posted here for what seems like ages but this is to confirm that it is not for lack of interest. I have been sniffing around and I continue to be amazed by what fragrance means to me and how it manages to speak in a language abstract and precise at the same time. I have been overwhelmed by my new life and tasks here in Geneva. A different side of me, a new professional persona, has been summoned and I have to rise to the expectations, mine mostly. A new world is spinning around me and carrying me to places that I have always wanted to go. But Perfume remains the world where I feel most at home. A refuge and a stepping stone.

My previous post described how Ambre Precieux exposed my most vulnerable side to the world. Emotional rescue was brought to me in the form of Jacomo Silences, brought to Geneva by my loved one together with a gift of Eau Sauvage Parfum. Silences  somehow manages to have the opposite effect of Ambre Precieux. It comforts, shields and elevates me. It has one of the most exquisite vetiver bases I have ever smelt and that very specific style and demeanour of a 70′s perfume. Eau Sauvage Parfum on the other hand is a curve ball of a scent. People who approach this hoping to find an amplified version of the classic Eau Sauvage will most probably be disappointed. It belongs to a completely different genre.  Deep down however the spirit of the classic exists. To touch base with my old loved scents I have also asked for the help of Fougere Bengale, a perfume that bottles humid summer and radiates warmth.

A new wardrobe has started to accumulate though. After all Geneva is perfume heaven compared to Athens and probably most cities, and an excellent opportunity to regroup my olfactory powers. I have bought Nasomatto China White, a scent that I do not dare try to explain in a few words because it is so complex it can make your head ache. I also bought a small bottle of Nasomatto Nuda oil, available only from the Nasomatto on line shop. Although most people swear this is a straight up jasmine, the oil format that I have is far more complex which makes me wonder whether I see things in it or its oil formulation reveals more.

I also bought myself Vitriol d’Oeillet, a very comforting scent to my nose. I love carnation and this rendition is suave, slightly spicy and quite masculine. I smell a lot of the qualities of Sa majesté la rose in this one… Am I the only one to smell lavender in these two…?

Last but not least, I managed to find a reasonably priced bottle of Jacomo Chicane, the feminine accomplice of Eau Cendrée, my childhood scent obsession. The scent itself is like the floral big sister of Silences, floral but green and bitter, and the bottle is enough of a motive to acquire this.

What has made me pull myself together and write this post is the amazing interest and hits that my previous posts continue to attract and the fact that writing about perfume is what makes my every day routine less repetitive. I have been offered many samples from people and perfume houses that I consider very important and I will be writing about them in the days, weeks, maybe months to come. I have a hellish schedule till the middle of March so do not expect much till then… I will be back though… My nose is still alive.

Creative Commons License
MemoryOfScent by Christos Karageorgos is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About Christos

Scientifically minded but obsessed with the subjective aspect of things. Photos copyright of MemoryOfScent, with special thanks to Pantelis Makkas http://pantelismakkas.blogspot.com/. You are welcome to link to my blog but you are definitely not allowed to copy text or use the photos without my permission. All text and main photos are originals and property of MemoryOfScent All perfumes are from my collection unless stated otherwise.

16 comments

  1. Great to read you again, Christos! I have to say that I have steered clear of Vitriol d’Oeillet because the name is a bit frightening… It’s nice to learn from you that it’s another misnamed perfume! ;-)

    Please do continue to share your olfactory discoveries with us. We have missed you!

    • Thank you my friend. I promise I will. Your comments are already pointing the way. I will write a new Vitriol d’Oeillet post based on my full bottle experience.

  2. oh, thank goodness! I had wondered where your nose was hiding :) I connect to this post on a few levels…I was a bit surprised to read how Ambre Precieux leaves you feeling vulnerable in the big bad world – I had the same experience with Rose Essentiale by Bulgari and subsequently don’t have it around, at least yet. So, different scent, but similar experience. AND your experience with Silences, which some compare to Chanel no. 19 is on the money for me, too…today I am in Chanel no. 19 pure parfum and feel beautifully protected.
    ..”comforts, shields and elevates…” I like that. Eau Sauvage is the scent that I always look for in airports to sniff – will need a full bottle sometime. And finally, China White was among my top favorites at our recent Chicago Basenotes Meetup. If I recall, there was something meditative about it that I quite liked. Came home from that trip with the classic and also meditative L’Heure Bleu.

    • Isn’t it strange how a perfume we find “nice” can suddenly become so oppressive?

      There is something about green scents that I find very reassuring. I think they reconnect me with nature and this feels comforting. Silences does have a lot in common with Chanel No19 but at the same time smells sexier and more assertive.

      I promise to write about Eau Sauvage Parfum but if you enjoy the original you may be more attracted to Diorella than to Parfum.

  3. Apointofsmell

    You were always on our mind (without the slightest doubt that your nose is alive and smelling). Welcome back!

  4. I love how you expressed a fragrance making you feel “comforted and shielded”. For me that is what Bal a Versailles does, comforts shields and protects. Wonderful how a scent could help us feel that way.

  5. It’s good to “see” you here. The reasons for you not posting more often are good, so it’s totally fine.

    I really like Vitriol d’Oeillet (a lot has changed from the time I readyour review for it :) ) but I can’t say I smell lavender in there. I wouldn’t rely on my nose though: while I can tell if two perfumes smell similar, I’m not good at picking separate notes.

    • I am like you when it comes to analysing scents, finding analogies is much easier than dissecting notes, but at some point I smelt the lavender in Sa majeste la rose and from that point it is always there… Same thing happened with Vitriol d’Oeillet.

  6. Christos! Glad to hear you are well, my friend, and getting acclimated to your new country and new professional life.

    You know, I only tried it once, but I was thoroughly intrigued by China White. It didn’t start off with me feeling that way, but by the time I reached the end of my sample, I was rather smitten and seriously thinking of buying a bottle. I don’t think there are too many perfume bloggers who love it, so it’s nice to hear that you do.

    • Hi Suzanne! China White is a trip! It transmogrifies from musky oriental to dry incensy wood in a way that keeps amazing me. Duro and Black Afgano seem to attract more attention but now that I have perfume shop that stocks Nasomatto near me I can tell you this line is full of beauties. Hindu Grass is certainly your kind of green.

  7. Thank God, you wrote at last! I was worried, indeed!
    Now I have to, just HAVE to find China White for sampling ;) !!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Ana

    Christos,I am so happy to see you back!My virtual perfume world has been smaller and sadder without your posts!I have sampled China White in Barcelona ,a couple of years ago,and I found it addictive and hypnotic.I have been sidetracked meanwhile and it slipped outside my radar,but I plan in making things right with it.

    • Hi Ana
      So glad to hear from you here. Hope things are good for you in your new location. Not that new any more but moving to a new country is always a process.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

